Monday, 8 May 2017

Karim sworn in as minister

May 8, 2017

Taib (third right) together with Abang Johari (third left) and four new members of Sarawak cabinet posing for photo after the swearing-in ceremony.— Bernama photo
KUCHING: Two ministers and two assistant ministers who were appointed in the Sarawak cabinet on Saturday were sworn in before Head of State Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud at a swearing in ceremony held at the Astana Negeri here.

Abdul Karim recieves his letter of appointment from Taib. — Bernama photo

Taib presents the letter of appointment to Talib during the ceremony. — Bernama photo
The two full ministers were Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah (Minister of Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports) and Datuk Talib Zulpilip (Minister in the Chief Minister’s Office for Integrity and Ombudsman).

Abdul Karim and Talib were assistant ministers but promoted to full ministers in the State Cabinet reshuffle announced by Sarawak Chief Minister Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Openg after the conclusion of the Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) ‘Jasamu Dikenang’ special convention Saturday.

Two new assistant ministers sworn in yesterday were Abdullah Saidol (Chief Minister’s Office Corporate Affairs) and Snowdan Lawan (Youth and Sports).

PBB acting deputy president Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan has also been appointed as Sarawak’s third deputy chief minister in the Cabinet reshuffle.

Awang Tengah was also appointed as Second Minister for Urban Development and Natural Resources, while retaining his portfolio as Minister of Industrial and Entrepreneur Development.

Abang Johari had said the reshuffle was timely and necessary to implement policies that he had announced earlier and believed the new cabinet can improve on what has been planned to move the state forward. — Bernama

No comments:

Post a Comment